Never Gonna Say I’m Sorry


Never Gonna Say I’m Sorry is a track by Ace of Base that was released as a single on March 11, 1996. Despite not reaching the same level of success as some of their other hits like “Lucky Love” and “Beautiful Life”, the song was still a notable hit and charted in several countries.

Written by band member Jonas Berggren, the song was inspired by their previous hit “All That She Wants” and features a similar arrangement and drumbeat.

Never Gonna Say I'M Sorry | Single Cover | Ace Of Base
Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry
Single facts
  • Never Gonna Say I’m Sorry
  • Jonas Berggren 
  • Cheiron Studio
  • Pop
  • Reggae fusion
  • Mega Records
  • Arista
  • London Records
  • Metronome
  • Barclay
  • Polydor
  • BMG Victor Inc.
  • Max Martin
  • Denniz PoP
  • Jonas Berggren

Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry: Ace of Base's Catchy Third Single


Ace of Base released "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry" as the third single from their second album, The Bridge (1995). The song was written by band member Jonas Berggren, and it was released on 11 March 1996. While it didn't reach the same level of success as "Lucky Love" and "Beautiful Life," it was still a notable hit.

The Making of the Song

Jonas Berggren wrote "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry" with the intention of recreating the sound of their hit song "All That She Wants." The liner notes of The Bridge album even mention the similarities between the two songs. According to Berggren, "We decided early on to do an 'All That She Wants' arrangement and drums because it's always fun to have something old on a new record."

Jonas "Joker", Max Martin and Denniz Pop produced it. 

Chart Success

In Europe, this track" peaked at number six in Hungary, number 12 in Denmark, and number 17 in Finland. It also reached the top 30 in the band's native Sweden and the top 40 in Iceland.

The single didn't chart on the UK Singles Chart in the UK, but it did peak at number 78 on the Eurochart Hot 100.

Outside of Europe, the song reached number seven on the RPM Dance/Urban chart and number 53 on the Canadian Hot 100 in Canada, number six on the Billboard Bubbling Under Hot 100 Singles chart and number 18 on the Billboard Hot Dance Music/Maxi-Singles Sales chart in the United States, number 12 in Chile, and number 79 in Australia.

The Music Video

The music video for this single was directed by British director Richard Heslop and released in 1996. The video includes computer-generated imagery and mirror effects designed to create a funhouse-like atmosphere.


This single may not have been as successful as some of their other singles, but it still managed to make its mark on the charts. With its catchy melody and upbeat rhythm, it remains a fan favorite to this day.


  1. What album is "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry" from?
  • This track is from Ace of Base's second album, The Bridge (1995).
  1. Who wrote "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry"?
  • The song was written by Ace of Base band member Jonas Berggren.
  1. What was the inspiration behind "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry"?
  • Berggren was inspired to recreate the sound of the band's hit song "All That She Wants."
  1. Who directed the music video for "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry"?
  • The music video was directed by British director Richard Heslop.
  1. What chart success did "Never Gonna Say I'm Sorry" achieve?
  • The song reached the top 10 in Hungary, the top 20 in Denmark and Finland, and the top 30 in Sweden. It also charted in Canada, the US, Chile, and Australia.
Choose your ace of base